Whitby Museum Banner

Special events & exhibitions

 

Oral History Training at the Pannett Art Gallery

Are you interested in learning how to collect oral histories? The stories within living memory which haven't been written down and so may be lost forever.

The Pannett Art Gallery, in conjunction with Scarborough Museums Trust, is running a one day training course on Friday 20th March 10am - 3.30pm.

The course is for anyone interested in recording the stories of our times and will cover everything from interviewing technique to the type of equipment you will need.

The course is FREE but places are very limited and so must be booked in advance.

To find out more or to reserve a place please phone Helen Berry on 01947 600933 or email the gallery on pannettgallery@hotmail.co.uk



Women and the Great War

Talk advert


Exhibitions

Our Current Exhibition

'1914' - An exhibition running from 1st July 2014 until Easter 2015.

The exhibition includes the Bombardment of Whitby. There will also be sections on the loss of 'HMS Hogue', 'HMHS Rohilla', and the enthusiasm with which the town answered Kitchener's call to enlist.
The exhibition draws heavily on the Whitby Gazette's reporting at the time and will include many items lent by Whitby people today.

 

Pannett Art Gallery Exhibitions 2015

The Pannett Art Gallery is run by Whitby Town Council (not the Whitby Literary & Philosophical Society). However because of its proximity to the Museum and interest to Museum visitors the exhibition programme for 2015 is given below. Admission is free. Information courtesy of Ms. Helen Berry, Curator.


Please note, all information is correct at the time of writing but may be subject to change. Please phone before making a special journey to visit any exhibition. TEL (01947) 600933/FAX (01947) 820227 or E MAIL: pannettgallery@hotmail.co.uk



The Paintings of Hannah and Fred Mayor Saturday 7th March - Sunday 22nd March
Whitby Art Society Saturday 28th March - Monday 4th May
Whitby Community College Student Exhibition Friday 8th - Sunday 17th May
North Yorkshire Open Studios Thursday 21st May - Sun 14th June
Staithes Group Selling Exhibition Saturday 20th June - Sunday 5th July
Fylingdales Group of Artists Friday 10th July - Sunday 16th
The Printmakers of Leeds Fine Artists Tuesday 18th August - Sunday 27th September
Anne Sudworth Sat 3rd October - Sunday 15th November